Moving Out, Moving On

Plastino Scholar Project

Today marks the end of a grueling 14 week semester that has left me exhausted and spent, much like those awful looking mops that lurk in the corners of restaurants. Today marks the 147th day of 2016, which has been a year of promise and adventure–my two favorite things–in addition to adversity and loss. Today is the 27th day of my beloved birthday month of May, in which my days were brightened by the arrival of loving cards or presents and quality time with all those who I love most in this world. Today is my last day of stress and worry.

And today is the first day of my new adventure.

For those who might not have read the article that my Mother kindly shared at least 4 times on Facebook I will quickly fill you in. I am headed to the Koonwarra Village School in Koonwarra, Australia (about an hour outside of Melbourne, for those of you who aren’t familiar with obscure Australian towns) to begin my Plastino Scholar Project. This is a project of my own design that I proposed in early December. Since then, I have been working to make all the necessary arrangements to leave immediately at the end of the semester from the University of Delaware and head for the land down under. At the Koonwarra Village School I will be completing qualitative research (observing and conducting interviews) with the students and staff in order to get a better understanding of this alternative school. The school, led by headmistress Fiona Mackenzie, is focused on student-led learning, environmental sustainability, and the development of socio-emotional intelligence. Basically, the Koonwarra Village School ( KVS, from here on out) is a mecca of innovative educational practices.

Throughout the course of this month long adventure I plan on climbing a certain famous bridge in Sydney, touring the Yarra Wine Valley by hot air balloon, finishing my scuba diving certification in the Great Barrier Reef, getting lost once or twice, seeing a world-famous opera house, and maybe just enjoying a craft beer here and there. (Hey Mom and Dad, I’m 21 now!) I also promised my 4th grade students that I would try to pet a kangaroo, but we’ll have to wait and see if that pans out…

At the moment, I am resting comfortably in the diffuse light pouring in from the expansive wall of windows in the Admirals Club at the Philadelphia Airport. A HUGE shout out to my cousin Lisa for hooking me up with a free day pass!

To continue with the theme of giving thanks, I want to express my deepest gratitude to my parents and sister who came to UD to help me pack up my room yesterday and and then brought me to the airport today. I want to thank Dave Plastino for endowing these once-in-a-lifetime projects. I want to thank Pete for encouraging me to apply, for having the faith that I would ultimately be selected (even when he gave me an 1870 map, quite presumptuously, of Australia for Christmas before my project was even selected), for putting up with my endless ramblings about the trip, and for teaching me to use Google Earth to scope out all the cool things to do in Australia. I want to hank Dr. Morgan for helping me to plan all the nitty gritty details and to make it through the IRB process. I want to thank Mac for walking with me to turn in my application. I want to thank my friend Sophiana for answering my every question about the program. Finally, I want to extend a huge thank you to anyone reading this and to anyone I might have accidentally left out. This is a huge opportunity and undertaking and I know that all the wonderful people in my life have helped to make this a reality.

No matter what the day is, today is my new start. I can’t wait to see what each day of this month-long journey brings.

 

Cheers!

Lex

 

One thought on “Moving Out, Moving On

  1. What an amazing opportunity and one that you created on your own! Just awesome! Enjoy every single minute and have no regrets. Just live it up! And definitley pet a kangaroo.. go to Steve Irwins zoo in Sydney. There you will get to pet a kangaroo.. it’s something you will never forget. And if you can, hold or pet a koala. You will fall in love ♡ Just live it up and have a blast! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

